Five for Friday

Happy Friday!!  I’m linking up with Courtney over at Eat Pray Run, DC today (as well as other Sweat Pink Ambassadors) on five things I’m loving this week.  Happy to end this week on a positive note – let’s just say, it has been a long one!

One: The Weather

And I'm not at all mad at the rain!

And I’m not at all mad at the rain!

Oh. Em. Gee.  I know it’s summer and August with dreams of beaches and sand, so one should expect hot (and humid if you’re in the DC area!) but the weather this week has been simply amazing.  Last night I actually turned OFF the a/c and slept with the windows open.  There is a fountain in a courtyard outside my window and it has lulled me to sleep many nights this week.  FANTASTIC!  I am looking forward to my 9 mile long run on Saturday 🙂

Two:  My New Balance run/walk shoes

I bought these New Balance 520’s about a month ago for the purpose of walking and general use (and reserve the running shoes for running!)

Get to Steppin' ;)

Get to Steppin’ 😉

I absolutely LOVE these shoes.  They are so comfy and bright! 🙂  I opted to walk home from work on Thursday as my “active rest” day since my new favorite class, Barbell, has been keeping me sore the day after.  I took the scenic route for a total of 3.4 miles and enjoyed some of nature’s surroundings.

flowers2

beauti-licious!

Three:  Breakfast for Dinner

I love those moments where you are not in the mood to cook but know you need to eat and the realization sets in that you are in adult so can pretty much eat/do whatever you want.  Last night I made Whole Grain Chocolate-Banana protein pancakes.  and boy were they yummy!!  I combined the pancake mix with 2 scoops of protein powder and a spoonful (my random measurement) of cocoa powder, mixed with a mushy (ready to be thrown away) banana and voila, dinner.

pancakes

mmm, mmm, good!

Four: Change is the only constant

I’ve been using the WordPress.com site for a while now and though it suits my general purposes, I’m looking into doing some things bigger and better.  My project for the weekend is to go WP self-hosted.  EEK!!  So, bear with me and wish me luck!  You’ll thank me for it later.  embrace-change1

Five:  Friends

This has been a long, busy, and emotionally draining week.  I took the “one day at a time” mantra and have made it to Friday (just need to make it through Friday!) but couldn’t have done so without some marvelous friends (and wine later).  My support system has allowed me to be emotional, vent, laugh, and just be me (and made me cute videos).  Always tell people that you love and care for them – even if you don’t have a specific reason – because life is too short not to.  And hugs are free 😉

I’m looking forward to good things coming up the next few days, a going away party Saturday evening and the Steelers vs. Redskins preseason game on Monday evening.  Excited to spend some time with some great people.greeting

Cheers to the weekend!!

Mar-

3 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. Thanks for linking up! And I agree this weather = AMAZING!! It sounds like you have some really fun things coming up in the next few days so yay 🙂 BTW, did I ever hear what you thought of Barre 3?

  2. No problem – this is always fun and I’ve been so busy haven’t scheduled any posts. I made a brief mention of Barre 3 in my last post. I liked it but want to try a different studio out.

Leave a Reply

