Play Time is Over!

I just returned from a GREAT vacation in Cali-forn-i-a!  (apologies for being a little AWOL on the blog – sorry, not sorry).  I spent the majority of my time in Santa Barbara but was also able to visit LA for a bit.  It was great to have a few days of downtime and visit with some amazingly awesome friends while checking out the sites.  We went to the beach, enjoyed a spanish fiesta and parade, road tripped to the peak of the mountains and just relaxed.

This was the first vacation in a while that wasn’t a racecation but I did bring workout clothes and running shoes and checked out one of the trails in Santa Barbara (see last post).  However, the ratio of running to eating was definitely out of balance and I indulged, just a little (and I’m not ashamed!)

Beer, Fish and Chips on the beach? Sign me up!

Beer, Fish and Chips on the beach? Sign me up!

I mean who can say no to to drinks, apps and Wild Mushroom Ravioli with Braised Short Ribs while chillaxin on the Redondo Beach Pier?

#YUM

#YUM

I didn’t take pictures of some of the other no-no’s I ate, but I assure you – it was all delicious!  Now that I am back on the east coast and realizing I have a half marathon inside of a month, I need to get back to work!!  The Rock and Roll Virginia Beach half is not going to run itself.  I returned from my trip on Monday and though tired came home to an empty fridge and smelly garbage (with some questionable fuzzy stuff inside, oops).  I didn’t have enough time to organize, catch up on work and workout so decided to kill 2 birds with one stone and made the 2.5 mile trek by foot to Whole Foods and back.  beast_modeIn addition I’ve planned my workout activity for the week.  Having it in print and on the interwebs outta make me stick to it, right?  😉

Monday: 2.5 mile walk and core work.
Tuesday: 4 Mile run and core work
Wednesday: BodyPump + core work
Thursday: 5 mile run and core work
Friday: Kickboxing + core work (this could turn into a rest day if needed)
Saturday: Long run – shooting for 7-8 miles + core work
Sunday: Trying Barre for the first time!

I also signed up for the August Core Focus challenge with Kat over at Sneakers and Fingerpaints.  If I did nothing else on vacation at least I planked!  I just need to catch up on recording it.  Wish me luck this week!  In the meantime, I will leave you with a few images of my vacation.  Beaches on one side, mountains on the other.  Priceless!  370

My first time at the Pacific Ocean!

My first time at the Pacific Ocean!

Viva la Fiesta!! parade

Viva la Fiesta!! parade

Lake Cachuma, Santa Ynez Mountains

Lake Cachuma, Santa Ynez Mountains

535

90210!!!!

493

Redondo Beach Pier!

8 thoughts on “Play Time is Over!

Leave a Reply

