So You Wanna Run a Marathon?

Several weeks ago I made my big announcement that I would be running in my first ever marathon. I am officially signed up for the Yuengling Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach next March.

I researched several training plans and have settled on one I’m pretty happy with. It is a 16 week plan and I will start in late November. But, I am looking for your help!ย  From nutrition to what to wear, to race day fueling and everything in between, what advice would you give this newbie marathoner?? Things like do you race while training? What shoes do you recommend? And what kind of in race hydration works for you?

Blow up my comment feed below. I’ll write a follow up post that captures all your sage counsel ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “So You Wanna Run a Marathon?

  1. 1. Train to cover the distance not for speed. You want to finish, not get hurt trying.

    2. Learn how to recover and be religious about it after every long run. Stretching, rolling, ice baths etc.

    3. Experiment with your nutrition early on so you’ll know what works for you by the time your runs get really long.

    4. Have fun, have fun, have fun!

  2. So far 4 weeks into training for my first 26.2 the thing that I am having the most difficulty getting used to is 4 runs per week plus one cardio cross train. I’m used to 3 rest days per week, and while losing one of them doesn’t sound like all that big of a deal I am finding that I need to spend mor time than usual on stretching, foam rolling and other activities to promote quicker recovery or else I wind up sore and slow. Eating and supplementing protein seems to help some as well, as does avoiding sitting for long periods of time. Walking a few laps around my office each hour stops me from getting too too stiff.

  3. I’m running the Baltimore marathon in october (my first full!) so follow my blog for the journey. I’ve had the hardest time learning to eat more and fuel myself but not on junk, just not be afraid to add extra calories of good whole foods and make sure to drink lots of water throughout the whole week, not right before long runs!

  4. Still so excited for you. As long as you do all of your long runs, you will finish!

    My wisdom: Don’t follow training plans exact, go by feel. You don’t want to run because you “have” to, even though your body is feeling sore, or you have a niggle. That will for sure get you injured. If your body is telling you to take the day off, do it, and don’t worry about making up those miles. That being said, don’t skip your long runs. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

