Meet Me Halfway!

Happy Monday! and Hello July!!  I hope everyone enjoyed a GREAT weekend.  Mine was marvelous!  I took a quick trip to Pittsburgh with friends to take in a Pirate game and visit with family.  The Bucs won (yay, best record in MLB!) so RTJR!!! (that’s Raise the Jolly Roger – a little “Picksburgh” winner speak for yinz) …

005

Showing my “Cutch” support!!

… and it so happened to be fireworks night!!

037What an amazing city Pittsburgh is.  Returning home I realized we are officially halfway through the year.  No better time than now to check in on those 2013 goals:

  • Giving more of my time.  You may have seen my recap of the Girls on the Run 5K event I participated in and I’m looking to use one of my upcoming races to raise funds as a Sole Mate for this awesome organization.  If I can manage it I *hope* to volunteer my time as a part of “Team Adelaide” – volunteers who do site visits a couple of times a semester and conduct evaluations.  Both opportunities are super exciting!
  • Travel, travel, travel.  This was probably my favorite goal!  Admittedly in the past I didn’t travel as much as I probably could or should so I’ve used 2013 to make up for it.  With the 13 in 2013 challenge I signed up for I opted for as many racecations as possible to help see the sights and get my running fix.  So far I’ve traveled to Disney, Boston, and Pittsburgh for races.  VA Beach, NYC and Rehoboth Beach, Delaware (though still contemplating Outer Banks!) are next.  On a personal note I’ve had fun in Colorado and have a week in California planned this summer.  I think mission accomplished on this one.  😉
  • Logging more miles.  With the exception of January, I have pretty much stuck to this goal and have run a race every month (2 in both May and June).  I also have confirmed running activities for every month the rest of the year!  Repeating mantra: *stay healthy, stay healthy*
  • Set a half marathon PR.  YAY!!! Setting a half marathon PR was ACCOMPLISHED in May at the Pittsburgh Half Marathon with a time of 2:03:35.  I am still in search of that sub 2 hour half but I have 3 (hmm) more opportunities this year to try.  Stay tuned!

inspirational-goal-quotes2I couldn’t agree more with this quote.  I am truly loving life right now in pursuing all that I set out to do this year.  I can’t wait to see what the second half of the year has in store.  🙂  AND, speaking of goals… a big DECISION has been made.  This is for 2014 but to commemorate my 40th birthday, I will officially train and compete in my FIRST MARATHON next March.  Can you feel the goosebumps??!

Giveaway

Lastly, thanks to everyone who entered my #BostonStrong Lace Medallion giveaway.  The 3 lucky winners are: Lisa P., Heather W., and Crystal C.  Check your emails to claim your prize and CONGRATULATIONS!!

11 thoughts on “Meet Me Halfway!

  1. I didn’t realize you were here this weekend!! (We went to the Friday night game.) Can’t believe we are in first place!

    You could always run the RnR VA Beach HM in September. It’s an amazingly flat/fast course!

    Have a god week!

Leave a Reply

