Get After It!

If a girl has 2 half marathons three weeks apart and barely trains in between them – does it make a sound?  Any guesses who that girl might be?  😉relaxI intentionally took a rest week to settle my legs after Pittsburgh.  This past week was to be my “get after it” week.  Can’t say I really did that.  Saturday I went BEAST mode at the gym.  I had a super sweaty workout complete with stationary bike, weights and a treadmill run.

beast_modeAfter that?

*crickets*

To be fair, I did do quite a bit of packing this week – to make up for my lack of exercise (so I say).  A mid week regroup happened after seeing my trainer Wednesday (he always pumps me up!) and getting in a short but speedy 5k run and hill walk Thursday.  My Friday plan is a steady 10K run and then another training session Saturday.  One more week until Boston!!

This weekend will be uber exciting.  After my training session I’ve got some fun planned with a friend and then Sunday is the Girls on the Run 5K!!  I went to the Volunteer Appreciation Event last Friday night and helped pass out team race packets and got to meet some of the coaches.  I am super thrilled to be a part of this organization’s Spring event.  I’ll have a full event recap for you after.  In the meantime, check out the slideshow (click logo below) from last season’s 5K.  Brings tears to my eyes every time I see it and really solidified my decision to volunteer!logo_girlsontherunLastly, I want to say thank you to everyone who stopped by and read and/or commented on my last post Keep in the Sunlight.  As a blogger you always ponder on how “personal” to actually get on the blog, but telling that story and using the images was really in the end for me a no brainer.  I appreciate the blog love and positive comments, and private messages, so thanks readers and friends!  If you haven’t had a chance to check it out, well what are you waiting for??!  Have a GREAT weekend folks!!!!

Posted in Run

Leave a Reply

