So a Gal Walks into a Race Expo…

Yes I just ran the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler with a finish time of 1:40:39 (wanted 1:30’s but I’ll take it).  But, the recap is going to have to wait.  What could possibly trump a race recap you ask?  Avid readers of my blog may recall this post where I talked about my visit to the Rock N’ Roll USA expo last month.  I was approached by someone at the Got Chocolate Milk? Team Refuel booth asking if I used Chocolate Milk to refuel (I do) and convinced me to embarrass myself by taking a photo and shooting an off the cuff 30 second video spot.  This video would be an official entry into a contest they were running to become a sponsored member of Team Refuel.  I figured what the hey!  I took the picture (which they emailed me later) and did a little impromptu spot.  I kinda laughed because I was on my lunch hour and need time to be witty (well, not always) so felt a little unprepared but the videographer said I did good and it seemed natural.  My response was a chuckle, eye roll and “yeah, we’ll see” I won’t get picked 😉 .

We’ll see alright, because I was selected as one of 10 finalists for the month of March – HOLLA!  I pretty much sat in stunned silence when I saw the email Friday evening.  After the initial shock wore off, I immediately started emailing family and friends, coworkers and put it on Facebook and Twitter asking, begging and pleading for them to vote.  I’m not excited about this at all!  Voting started at 5 pm on Friday, April 5th and goes though 11:59 pm on Friday, May 3rd.  Yeah, so… I’m gonna need you all to VOTE for me!!!  Somehow I feel like Pedro (please don’t make me explain that!) 😉

Vote

Please visit this link or click the photo above and vote, vote, vote!!  You can vote once per day.  What’s in it for me?  The top vote getters (2 I believe) will be selected and land a Team Refuel sponsorship, races entries and gear!  Oh and have I mentioned how HUGE a Steelers fan I am and that Hines Ward is currently their spokesperson as he trains on Team Refuel for his Ironman?  Does that have any bearing on your decision to just click that link?  Here, I’ll make it easy and put it right here again for ya.

myAfter

HINES WARD REFUELS WITH CHOCOLATE MILK!

Oh and if that’s not enough for every vote, $1 will go to the Challenged Athletes Foundation.  See giving back!  This is really exciting for me!  So, vote now, vote often, and THANK you in advance for your support!!  Don’t forget you have until May 3rd just before midnight.  Who am I kidding, I’ll remind you!  You’ll get a Cherry Blossom recap soon, this just couldn’t wait 🙂

17 thoughts on “So a Gal Walks into a Race Expo…

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Cherry Blossom Ten-Miler | Mar on the Run!

  2. Pingback: One week down, three to go! | Mar on the Run!

  3. Pingback: Recap Friday | Mar on the Run!

Leave a Reply

