It’s the Final Countdown!!

Goodness, one would think I’ve never run a race before, when in fact this is my umpteenth time!  But it’s predicted to be in the mid-80s (huzzah!) in Florida and it’s DISNEY people – so yeah, you’re just gonna have to deal with my excitement – just a little bit longer.  But the getting there… oopmh!  This has been a bit of an exhausting week.  I’m in the last 7 days of my 21 days of training to the Princess Half.  Here’s my workout recap and what’s in store for the final 7:

What I planned to do… What I actually did…
Friday – Short run, 3-4 miles I did run – YES!  But only 2 miles.  But they were really, really fast, sweaty miles 🙂
Saturday – REST DAY REST day!
Sunday – Long run.  Going to shoot for 8-9 miles here!! 8 mile long run – with a 1 mile uphill walk home.  Felt great.  It was slow – 1:35 – but steady.
Monday – Strength training with trainer REST day – unplanned but I had a long work day and was exhausted.
Tuesday – REST DAY (or maybe a little yoga) REST day (ok, it was Fat Tuesday and I was coerced into going out.  I felt bad not getting to the gym so came home and did 3 sets of timed pushups, planks and v-ups!)
Wednesday – Run, 6-7 miles Ran 5 miles in 46:09.  Fast and sweaty again!
Thursday – Strength training (either with trainer or back to BodyPump) One hour of BodyPump at the gym.  This barbell class is slowly becoming my new favorite obsession!

Here’s how this week is shaping up:

  1. Friday – Rest (another unplanned day but again, this has been an utterly exhausting week!)
  2. Saturday – Cardio – 45 minutes of bike and elliptical and a cool down walk
  3. Sunday – Long run – shooting for 9-10 miles.  Last long run before the half
  4. Monday – strength training w/trainer
  5. Tuesday – Rest day
  6. Wednesday – light run, low mileage
  7. Thursday – BodyPump

Then I’m off and rest days until Sunday’s half!  Boy did that come quick!  Hope you all have a fabulous weekend (even better if you’re off on Monday!!)  And don’t forget about my Run Like a Princess “Bling” Giveaway which began on Valentine’s Day.  It ends at midnight on Sunday, February 24.  Click here for easy access to entry form!

Posted in Run

2 thoughts on “It’s the Final Countdown!!

  1. It’s chilly in Florida today, which I love for running! I’m freezing when I’m not running, though. I hope you have a fabulous time at the Princess Half! It sounds like a blast, and I’d love to do it some year.

Leave a Reply

