Welcome 2013!!!!

HAPPY, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

I welcome 2013 with open arms and am pretty excited for the New Year.  I am not a resolution maker.  I find that you get really hyped up for the first of the year and then they fall by the wayside by February 🙂  I do however believe in setting challenging and meaningful goals for yourself.   If anything, I do resolve to continue my healthy eating and workout habits so nothing new there.  Here are just a few of my own goals for the year (you’ll keep me honest, right?):

  • Giving more of my time.  So often we get wrapped up in ourselves (not a bad thing necessarily) and issues, problems, roadblocks, etc.  I did some of that in 2012 a bit to my detriment.  There is a whole world out there waiting to be seen, loved and appreciated.  I have committed to volunteering with Girls on the Run which is a nonprofit organization nationwide inspiring girls to be healthy, positive and building self esteem through running.  After school training activities and programs culminates in a 5K.  I’ll keep you posted more on this in the spring!
  • Travel, travel, travel.  Since I’ve been on this running kick the last couple of years, I have discovered just how expansive this sport is.  A lot of the races I’ve done have been local DC/MD/VA.  And while I still have some of those local races on tap, I plan on combining my running habit with visiting friends out of state and discovering what else this world has to offer!  (oh, don’t worry there is plenty of play involved here – a Caribbean cruise is in the works for later this year 😉
  • Logging more miles.  2012 was a busy year for me in terms of running and racing as I accomplished things I never thought possible:  10 races, 80+ miles (not including training miles!) and 7 shiny new medals.  Leaves me wanting more (and more and more)!  Going on 2 years removed from my last surgery and I’ve worked hard on regaining my strength and getting into what I consider the best shape of my life – and I intend to keep it that way.  In one more year I will be 40 (GASP!!) so my goal is to participate in at least one running activity each month in 2013.  Still working out the full schedule but look to the right for my confirmed upcoming races in 2013.
  • Set a half marathon PR.  I did four half marathons in 2012.  I set a PR of 2:10 in October at the Baltimore Half but my mission – should I choose to accept it – is to break the 2 hour mark.  I have 5 opportunities between now and July, so wish me (and my trainer) luck 🙂

And I suppose I need a running trust fund for all these activities!  Well 2013… Bring it on!!  Are YOU ready?

keepcalm

Posted in Run

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2013!!!!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Meeeeee…!!!! | Mar on the Run!

Leave a Reply

